Solomon's Unique History
Solomon was a fast growing community in the gold rush days of 1899 and 1900 when gold fever was the instigation for expansion on the Seward Peninsula. During the big strike for gold there were anywhere from three to seven enormous dredges scouring the Solomon area for the precious yellow metal. By 1904, Solomon was the southern terminus of a standard gauge railroad operated by the Solomon River and Council City Railroad. The last remnants of the engines can still be seen from the Council Highway.
In 1939, the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) was responsible for instructing the children of the Solomon area. The school opened in 1940 and remained in operation until 1956 when administrators closed the facility in a cost saving effort. Many families had moved to surrounding communities in order to continue their children's education.
Five decades later, in 2001 the Village of Solomon applied for and received a U.S. Department of Economic Development Administration grant to renovate the abandoned building into a viable community facility and tourism venture.
Solomon Bed and Breakfast is a remarkable project envisioned by the Village of Solomon's tribal council, community at large and many individuals. They realized the potential of remodeling the 1940 schoolhouse into a viable community building. After three summers of renovations the vision has come true with the opening of the Solomon Bed and Breakfast.